Kids books with Karen – Scarlet and Ivy

Some time ago I mentioned that one of my daughters is a reluctant reader and how thrilled I was when I finally found a series of books that she loved! That series was Ella Diaries. Having read each of the books in the Ella Diaries series ten times over, I found it difficult getting her to move on. Until I introduced her to the Scarlet and Ivy series, which she also loved, and read over and over. She even dressed up as Ivy for Children’s Book Week. So, if you’re looking for something to read, this series might be for you.

About Scarlet and Ivy


The Lost Twin

Book One

It all begins with The Lost Twin, the first book in the series. If you haven’t guessed already, Scarlet and Ivy are twin sisters. Set at Rookwood School, teenage Ivy is on a mission to find out why Scarlet has disappeared. But in order to find Scarlet, Ivy has to pretend to be Scarlet. She must think like Scarlet, act like Scarlet, become Scarlet. (Not easy when your personalities are very different). But what on earth happened to the real Scarlet, and why is the school trying to keep it a secret? 

As a young reader, I loved Nancy Drew. I couldn’t read enough of them! But my daughter showed no interest in Nancy Drew. Thankfully, Scarlet and Ivy hit the mark. It offers plenty of mystery and suspense in a creepy boarding school setting. The story is fast paced and the character development is excellent. The secret diary entries strongly appealed to my daughter and she could readily relate to Ivy’s goody two-shoes personality.

Book Two

The mystery continues with The Whispers in the Walls. The twins have been reunited but are still not out of danger. Scarlet and Ivy are back at Rookwood School, thanks to their cruel stepmother, and this time they are on a mission to clear Scarlet’s name. Scarlet is known as a trouble-maker but she is falsely accused of stealing. In the dead of the night the twins discover a secret hidden deep within the walls that poses a very real threat to their present. Mr Bartholomew, the dreadful and regrettable school principal, has a dark secret that he will stop at nothing to protect.


The Whispers in the Walls


The Dance in the Dark

Book Three

The Dance in the Dark introduces a new ballet teacher to Rookwood and upon her arrival strange things begin happening. Poison pen letters are circulating the school and mysterious ‘accidents’ start happening to the students. But why did their beloved ballet teacher Miss Finch suddenly disappear? And what does the new ballet teacher, the strange Madame Zelda, have to do with it?

Scarlet and Ivy embark on another mystery, learning more about Rookwood and themselves along the way. With a plot twist at the end, friendship dramas and the search for the truth about their real mother, this is a great read. What new secrets will be revealed?

Books Four, Five & Six

About the Author

Sophie Cleverly was born in Bath in 1989. Being a writer has always been her dream. Sophie loved writing stories from the moment she could write, starting when she was just 4 years old. Book One of her Scarlet and Ivy series is Sophie’s debut novel. If you’d like to know more about Sophie, check out Sophie’s website.

New Series 

Sophie Cleverly confesses to having a strange fascination with graveyards. One of her favourite books is The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. Her latest book, A Case of Grave Danger, is the first in her new series of books called, ‘The Violet Veil Mysteries‘. My daughter has already given it the thumbs up!