The Children’s Book Council of Australia have announced the winners and honour books for this year’s Book of the Year.
Some of our favourites made the list. But, if you think something else should have won we’d love to hear about it.

CBW 20161

Book of the Year: Older Readers
Winner Cloudwish by Fiona Wood
Honours A Single Stone by Meg McKinlay
Honours Inbetween Days by Vikki Wakefield

Book of the Year: Younger Readers
Winner Soon by Morris Gleitzman
Honours Sister Heart by Sally Morgan
Honours Shadows of the Master by Emily Rodda

Book of the Year: Early Childhood
Winner Mr Huff by Anna Walker
Honours Perfect by Danny Parker, with illustrations by Freya Blackwood
Honours The Cow Tripped Over The Moon by Tony Wilson, with illustrations by Laura Wood

Picture Book of the Year
Winner Flight by Armin Greder
Honours Ride, Ricardo, Ride! by Shane Devries, with text by Phil Cummings
Honours One Step at a Time by Sally Heinrich, with text by Jane Jolly

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books
Winner Lennie the Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony by Stephanie Owen Reeder
Honours Phasmid: Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect by Rohan Cleave, with illustrations by Coral Tulloch
Honours Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural ANZACs by Robyn Siers, with illustrations by Carlie Walker

Crichton Award for New Illustrators
Winner The Underwater Fancy Dress Parade by Allison Colpoys, with text by Davina Bell

Children’s Book Week starts tomorrow, we hope you’re all ready to join in on the fun!