Children’s Book Council of Australia – Shortlist for Book of the Year 2017

The Children’s Book Council has released the Shortlist for their annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children’s literature.

The winners will be announced the first Friday of Children’s Book Week which runs Friday, 18th August – Friday, 25th August 2017.

You would have recently seen our blog posts about the notable lists – if you missed them you can view them here: Book of the Year: Older Readers, Book of the Year: Younger Readers, Book of the Year: Early Childhood, Eve Pownall Award for Information Books, and Picture Book of the Year

Book of the Year: Older Readers

Waer by Meg Caddy
Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon
Yellow by Megan Jacobson
Frankie by Shivaun Plozza
One Would Think the Deep by Claire Zorn

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Rockhopping by Trace Balla
Within These Walls by Robyn Bavati
A Most Magical Girl by Karen Foxlee
Dragonfly Song by Wendy Orr
Mrs Whitlam by Bruce Pascoe
Captain Jimmy Cook Discovers Third Grade by Kate Temple & Jol Temple and illustrated by John Foye

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

Go Home, Cheeky Animals! written by Johanna Bell and illustrated by Dion Beasley
All I Want for Christmas is Rain written by Cori Brooke and illustrated by Megan Forward
The Snow Wombat written by Susannah Chambers and illustrated by Mark Jackson
Nannie Loves by Kylie Dunstan
Chip by Kylie Howarth
Gary by Leila Rudge

Picture Book of the Year

Out by Owen Swan
The Patchwork Bike by Van T Rudd
My Brother by Oliver Huxley
One Photo by Liz Anelli
Mechanica by Lance Balchin
Home in the Rain by Bob Graham

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Spellbound: Making Pictures with the A-B-C by Maree Coote
A-Z of Endangered Animals by Jennifer Cossins
The Gigantic Book of Genes by Lorna Hendry
Fabish: The Horse that Braved a Bushfire by Neridah McMullin and illustrated by Andrew McLean
Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks by Gina M. Newton
William Bligh: a stormy story of tempestuous times by Michael Sedunary and illustrated by Bern Emmerichs

Crichton Award for New Illustrators

Mechanica by Lance Balchin
A Patch from Scratch by Megan Forward
Welcome to Country illustrated by Lisa Kennedy and written byAunty Joy Murphy
Melbourne-Word-by-Word by Michael McMahon
The Patchwork Bike illustrated by Van T Rudd and written byBeneba Clarke