Percy Jackson and the Olympians, by Rick Riordan, is a series of 5 books (known as a pentalogy) that follow the story of a young Percy Jackson who has dyslexia and gets into constant trouble at school. Percy quickly discovers that the reason he has so much trouble reading and sitting still is that he is actually a demi-god child of the Greek Gods. Demi-gods are naturally able to read Ancient Greek and have extremely fast reflexes to allow them to be better fighters – which explained why Percy had trouble reading and sitting still.
Once Percy learns of his powers, he has to make his way to Camp Half-Blood and complete a series of Quests is order to save the world on behalf of the Gods – because Gods are far too important to fight their own battles.;-)

Rick Riordan has written a number of Junior Fiction series since he was a history teacher at junior high schools in San Francisco and Texas. He originally started writing mystery novels for adults but turned to children’s fiction when he started writing “The Lightning Thief” as a bedtime story for his oldest son.

The 5 books in the series are:

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth

Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian

The first 2 books of the Olympians series have been made into movies: Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief (M) and Percy Jackson and The Sea of Monsters (PG). They are great films with lots of action and adventure, but can be a little frightening for younger viewers. The books are recommended for readers aged from around 12 to 15, depending on reading level. They are fun, adventurous, exciting, funny and believe it or not – you will actually learn some history and it will be interesting!

One of the best things I can say about Rick Riordan’s books is that they are incredibly diverse. Not just his stories, but his characters. None of the characters in any of his series follow stereotypes, or social norms. This is also one of my daughter’s favourite aspects of the books as the subjects include boys and girls who don’t follow any set gender roles. Neither does race or religion affect how characters interact with each other. It doesn’t matter to the story line if a character is gay or straight or gender fluid, and the stories are written in such a way that topics such as these are mentioned but irrelevant, which is so refreshing for young people today who are so much more accepting of people’s differences.

If you love the first Percy Jackson series, be sure to check out the Heroes of Olympus, the next 5 books in Percy’s life. Want still more? See the Trials of Apollo, The Kane Chronicles, and Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard.

Poseidon photo

Photo by TracyElaine