Children’s Book of the Year Shortlist 2020

This year’s Children’s Book Week has been postponed until 17-23 October 2020, which means this year we get even more time with the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Book of the Year Awards.

Book of the Year: Older Readers


The Boy Who Steals Houses by C.G. Drews
How It Feels to Float by Helena Fox
Ghost Bird by Lisa Fuller
When the Ground is Hard by Malla Nunn
Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte
This Is How We Change the Ending by Vikki Wakefield

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

The Little Wave by Pip Harry
The Thing About Oliver by Deborah Kelly
The Dog Runner by Bren MacDibble
Catch a Falling Star by Meg McKinlay
The Glimme by Emily Rodda , with illustrations by Marc McBride
The Secrets of Magnolia Moon by Edwina Wyatt, with illustrations by Katherine Quinn

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

We’re Stuck! by Sue deGennaro
One Runaway Rabbit by David Metzenthen, with illustrations by Mairead Murphy
Bat vs Poss by Alexa Moses, with illustrations by Anil Tortop
When Billy Was a Dog by Kirsty Murray, with illustrations by Karen Blair
My Friend Fred by Frances Watts, with illustrations by A. Yi
Goodbye House, Hello House by Margaret Wild, with illustrations by Ann James

Picture Book of the Year

Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall
Nop by Caroline Magerl
I Need a Parrot by Chris McKimmie
Three by Stephen Michael King
The Good Son: A Story from the First World War, Told in Miniature by Jules Ober & Felicity Coonan, written by Pierre-Jacques Ober
Tilly by Anna Walker, written by Jane Godwin

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals by Sami Bayly
Searching for Cicadas by Lesley Gibbes, with illustrations by Judy Watson
A Hollow is a Home by Abbie Mitchell, with illustrations by Astred Hicks
Wilam: A Birrarung Story by Aunty Joy Murphy & Andrew Kelly, with illustrations by Lisa Kennedy
Young Dark Emu: A Truer History by Bruce Pascoe
Yahoo Creek: An Australian Mystery by Tohby Riddle

CBCA Award for New Illustrators

Louie and Snippy Save the Sea by Grant Cowen, written by Collette Dinnigan
Paperboy by Bethany Macdonald, written by Danny Parker
Fly by Jess McGeachin
Cooee Mittigar: A Story on Darug Songlines by Leanne Mulgo Watson, written by Jasmine Seymour
Baby Business by Jasmine Seymour
Little Bird’s Day by Johnny Warrkatja Malibirr, written by Sally Morgan

And keep and eye out in the coming months as we reviews some of this year’s notable and shortlisted books.