Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Book of the Year – Eve Pownall Award for Information Books Notable List 2019

Each year the Children’s Book Council of Australia announces their Book of the Year across six categories: Older Readers, Younger Readers, Early Childhood, Eve Pownall Award for Information Books, Picture Book of the Year, and the Crichton Award for New Illustrators. On Tuesday 26 February they announced their notable lists. On 26 March the shortlist will be announced and on Friday 16 August the winners will be announced.

These books represent the very best of Australian writing and illustration. Below is the Notable list for the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books. Reserve your copy today.

Entries in this category should be books which have the prime intention of documenting factual material with consideration given to imaginative presentation, interpretation and variation of style. Ages 0-18 years

Digby & Claude by Emma Allen, with illustrations by Hannah Sommerville
The Flying Optometrist by Joanne Anderton, with illustrations by Karen Erasmus
The Great Lizard Trek by Felicity Bradshaw, with illustrations by Normal MacDonald
Zeroes & Ones by Cristy Burne
Australian Birds by Matt Chun
Bouncing Back: An Eastern Barred Bandicoot Story by Rohan Cleave, with illustrations by Coral Tulloch
Watch This! by Jane Godwin & Beci Orpin
The Happiness Box: A Wartime Book of Hope by Mark Greenwood, with illustrations by Andrew McLean
The Giant Book of Germs by Lorna Hendry
When Water Lost Her Way by Meg Humphrys
Linda Jackson’s Rainbow Menageries by Linda Jackson
Under The Southern Cross by Frane Lessac
Marvellous Miss May: Queen of the Circus by Stephanie Owen Reeder
Waves by Donna Rawlins, with illustrations by Mark Jackson & Heather Potter
Make Believe: M. C. Escher for Kids by National Gallery of Victoria * not currently available at the library.
My Modern Art Book by Kate Ryan, with illustrations by Cally Bennett
Armistice by Ruth Starke, with illustrations by David Kennett
Our Birds: Dilimurrungu Wayin Malanynha by Siena Stubbs
Sorry Day by Coral Vass, with illustrations by Dub Leffler