And the winner is…

The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose

The winner of the 2017 Stella Prize is Heather Rose for her novel  The Museum of Modern Love. The $50,000 prize was awarded on Tuesday 18 April in Melbourne. 

“The Museum of Modern Love is an unusual and remarkable achievement, a meditation on the social, spiritual and artistic importance of seeing and being seen. It is rare to encounter a novel with such powerful characterisation, such a deep understanding of the consequences of personal and national history, and such dazzling and subtle explorations of the importance of art in everyday life.”

The Stella Prize – Shortlist 2017

The Stella Prize is an annual literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing and championing diversity and cultural change. On International Women’s Day 2017 (Wednesday 8 March), the Stella Prize shortlist was announced.  The shortlist features six extraordinary books by Australian women.

2017 Stella Prize shortlist is:

Title links above will take you to the book listings in the library catalogue

  Brenda Walker, Chair of the 2017 judging panel, says:

“The 2017 Stella Prize shortlist celebrates books that combine extraordinary literary accomplishment with the social and familial reverberations of some of the most significant issues of our time: racism, violence against women, the aftermath of totalitarianism, the place of art in everyday life and the way we confront our individual mortality.”

Read more about the shortlisted authors and their works on the Stella Prize website.

The Stella Prize logo

Shortlist originally posted on 8 March, post updated with winner on 19 April.