The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing and championing diversity and cultural change.

Updated: And the winner is……..

Charlotte Wood for her novel The Natural Way of Things 

The Stella Prize judges described it as ‘a novel of – and for – our times’ and ‘a riveting and necessary act of critique.’

And make sure you read Charlotte Wood’s acceptance speech.

2016 Stella Prize shortlist is:

Title links above take you to the book listings in the library catalogue

Stella Prize 2016 shortlist - Book Covers

2016 Stella Prize shortlisted books

Brenda Walker, Chair of the 2016 judging panel, says:

“It has been a vibrant year for Australian women’s writing. The books on the 2016 Stella Prize shortlist are all exceptionally strong: finely composed and compassionate literary investigations of the fate of individuals interacting with the natural world and with social authority; with protection and self-protection in complicated environments; with the hard-won joy of living.”

Read more about the shortlisted authors and theirs works on the Stella Prize website.

The Stella Prize logo

The winner of the 2016 Stella Prize was announced on Tuesday 19 April. 

Updated: Originally posted on 2 April, this post has been updated to include winner announcement.