The shortlist for this year’s Miles Franklin Award was announced yesterday. This year’s shortlist is one longer than usual which the judges say reflects the sheer quality and extreme diversity of the longlisted novels. WA author Craig Silvey was one of the six who survived the cut from the longlist of 12, so we will see if WA can go for two-in-a-row, after Tim Winton’s win in 2009 for Breath

The shortlist is:
Lovesong / Alex Miller
The Bath Fugues / Brian Castro
Jasper Jones / Craig Silvey
The Book of Emmett / Deborah Forster
Truth / Peter Temple
Butterfly / Sonya Hartnett