Miles Franklin Award Shortlist announced

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. The Award helps to support authors and to foster uniquely Australian literature. Miles Franklin believed that “Without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil.” This year’s list showcases a powerhouse of experienced Australian literary talent all vying for the prestigious award, the winner will be announced on 16 July.

Book cover for The White Girl
Book cover for The Yield
Book cover for Exploded view

Six novels are in contention for the $60,000 Miles Franklin Literary Award: The White Girl, Tony Birch; The Yield, Tara June Winch; Exploded View, Carrie Tiffany; Islands, Peggy Frew; The Returns, Philip Salom; No One, John Hughes. Click on the image of each book cover to find it in the library catalogue.

Book cover for Islands
Book cover for The Returns
Book cover for The No One