The longlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize has just been announced.

‘The five Man Booker judges have settled on thirteen novels as the longlist for this year’s prize. We believe it to be one of the strongest lists in recent memory, with two former winners, four past-shortlisted writers, three first-time novelists and a span of styles and themes that make this an outstandingly rich fictional mix
– James Naughtie, chair of judges (from Man Booker Prize longlist press release )

The Children’s Book A. S. Byatt (Random House – Chatto and Windus)
Summertime J M Coetzee (Random House – Harvill Secker)
The Quickening Maze Adam Foulds (Random House – Jonathan Cape)
How to paint a dead man Sarah Hall (Faber and Faber)
The Wilderness Samantha Harvey (Random House – Jonathan Cape)
Me Cheeta James Lever (HarperCollins – Fourth Estate)
Wolf Hall Hilary Mantel (HarperCollins – Fourth Estate)
The Glass Room Simon Mawer (Little, Brown)
Not Untrue & Not Unkind Ed O’Loughlin (Penguin – Ireland)
Heliopolis James Scudamore (Random House – Harvill Secker)
Brooklyn Colm Toibin (Penguin – Viking)
Love and Summer Wiliam Trevor (Penguin – Viking)
The Little Stranger Sarah Waters (Little, Brown – Virago)

This list will be whittled down to a shortlist which will be announced on 8 September, with the eventual winner being announced on 6 October.