Last week the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) announced the winners of the 2009 APRA Music Awards.

White Noise by The Living End was chosen as Song of the Year. Written by the singer/guitarist Chris Cheney, the song is the title track off the Melbourne band’s White Noise album.

Other winners included Kim Moyes & Julian Hamilton, from The Presets, who were named as the APRA Songwriters of Year, Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu who was awarded with the APRA Breakthrough Songwriter Award, and Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson who won Best Country Work for Rattlin’ Bones.

Check out the APRA Music Awards website for a complete list of winners.