Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2009 shortlist was announced on Tuesday 8 September 2009.

The Children’s Book / A. S. Byatt
Summertime / J M Coetzee
The Quickening Maze / Adam Foulds
Wolf Hall / Hilary Mantel
The Glass Room / Simon Mawer
The Little Stranger / Sarah Waters

J M Coetzee flies the flag for Australia, with his fictionalised memoir, Summertime. Coetzee, who has won the Booker Prize previously for Life & Times of Michael K (1983) and Disgrace (1999), emigrated from South Africa to Adelaide in 2002 and became an Australian citizen in 2006. Summertime is the final part of his fictionalised memoir trilogy, following Boyhood and Youth.

The Booker Prize is awarded to, what the judges consider to be, the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. The other five authors on the shortlist are English. The winner will be announced on 6th October.