Book industry announces shortlist for the 2016 ABIAs. 

The Australian Book Industry Awards  – ABIAs (it’s like the ARIAs, but for books) – 2016 shortlist has been announced and features 42 books across 11 different categories.  The awards are judged by a panel of book industry people, including representatives from publishers, bookshops, the media, and literary festivals. All books published in Australia during 2015 are eligible to be considered for the awards. 

The winners will be announced on Thursday 19 May, so in the meantime you should start attacking the shortlist and let us know which books you think will be victorious.

Biography Book of the Year

General Fiction Book of the Year

General Non-fiction Book of the Year

Illustrated Book of the Year

International Book of the Year

Literary Fiction Book of the Year

Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year

Book of the Year Older Children (8 to 14 years)

Book of the Year for Younger Children (0-8 years)

Small Publishers’ Children’s Book of the Year

Small Publishers’ Adult Book of the Year

Australian Book Industry Awards 2016 logo - ABIA logo