Winners of the 2016 PM’s Literary Awards

The winners of the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2016 were announced on 8 November, with 3 categories having joint winners, meaning there were nine very happy authors on the night. A special congratulations to Cockburn local Meg McKinlay who won the Young Adult category for her novel A Single Stone and to the other Western Australian winner Sally Morgan who won the Children’s Fiction category. 

Prime Minister's Literary Awards 2016 winners - book covers

Fiction (joint winners)

Non-fiction (joint winners)

Young Adult fiction

Children’s fiction

Prize for Australian History (joint winners)


  • The Hazards / Sarah Holland-Batt

Check out all the shortlisted titles below

Shortlisted Books for the 2016 PM’s Literary Awards

2016 prime ministers literary award - logo

The annual Prime Minister’s Literary Award recognises and celebrates the best of Australian writing in six categories: fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction, children’s fiction and poetry. Below are the 30 shortlisted books across the six categories for 2016 (title links take you to the library catalogue).



Young adult fiction

poster 2016 shortlisted books pm literary award young adult fiction category

Local author Meg McKinlay wins the Young Adult Fiction category

Children’s fiction

Prize for Australian History


  • Net Needle / Robert Adamson
  • Cocky’s Joy / Michael Farrell
  • The Hazards / Sarah Holland-Batt
  • Waiting for the Past / Les Murray
  • The Ladder / Simon West

For more information on all the winners and the other shortlisted authors visit the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards website

Originally posted on 3 November with only the shortlisted titles. Post now updates to include the winners.

All images sourced from Prime Minister’s Literary Awards – used and modified under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 International License