My Two Blankets – Children’s Book Week Review

My two blankets by Irena Kobald and Freya Blackwood has been nominated this year for Picture Book of the Year by the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) in their annual awards short list.

my two blankets - cover

My two blankets is a story about a young girl who moves to a new country. She finds that everything is very strange and different to her. She feels lost and unsure of herself and worries how (or if) she will feel again that sense of home and belonging she once had.

my+two+blankets2

my+two+blankets3

One day at a local park she sees a girl who smiles at her. When they meet the girl speaks to her but she still can’t understand these strange new sounds and words. Over time they meet again and again, and slowly but surely these once strange, cold, and sharp sounding words begin to feel familiar, warm, and soft.

new blanket

I like this book on many levels. The layout and hand drawn illustration style are well done and support the narrative nicely. The story is a thoughtful, warm, and sympathetic tale about the most basic challenges and obstacles that newly arrived immigrants face and how these impact their own feelings and behaviour. Importantly, and what sets it apart from many titles that try to tackle this topic, the narrative is completely from the young immigrant girl’s point of view, giving it an emotional authenticity and heart. I personally find it’s always good to read a story with another point of view that gives you a wider perspective on things, and life, in general.

Take a look at the full 2015 Awards short list and read more staff reviews of some of these fine titles. The winners will be announced the Friday before Children’s Book Week which runs Saturday, 22nd August – Friday, 28th August 2015.

Have you already read some of these titles? Have you enjoyed one that we haven’t reviewed? Then why not leave a comment and tell us all about it.


David

Author: David

I'm a library officer at Success Public Library. My main claims to fame are that I process new books and I present our local Pram Jam sessions. I've recently taught myself to (sort of) play the ukulele for these sessions - luckily, a lot of rhymes only seem to need two chords!

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

My Two Blankets – Children’s Book Week Review

by David time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • It’s #StarWarsReadsDay in Australia. We have 💯’s of #starwars books in stock. #starwarsreads

    cockburnlibraries: "It’s #StarWarsReadsDay in Australia. We have 💯’s of #starwars books in stock. 
#starwarsreads"
    11
    1
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    18
    2
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1