The Duck and The Darklings – CBW Review

 

Last year Cockburn Libraries’ Staff did a series of reviews for the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Book of the Year Shortlist. We are doing the same again this year so keep an eye out for our reviews. And now to kick us off…The Duck and the Darklings

The Duck and The Darklings is a book about what happens when humanity has scarred and stripped the world. It is also a story about hope when things are dark and could easily be used as a book about depression. But to the adult eye this book is definitely about the dystopian world that comes when we have ruined the Earth. Although it is never stated in the book the descriptions of the Dark (the place where Peterboy and Grandpapa live) tells us that they are underground and that the world above no longer feels the warmth of the sun.

Glenda Millard, the author, also does a wonderful job with language in the story. In several places familiar words have been lost. For example, the word tears becomes sorrydrops through the passage of time. It is a subtle and delightful way of tracking the parts of language that have been lost and adds to the sense of other that exists in the book. This also gives us an opportunity to start a discussion with children about what words could fit there; an opportunity to practise semantic knowledge. Semantic knowledge is all about understanding or meaning and finding the more familiar word that would fit is an example of working on semantic knowledge and will assist with developing literacy.

Past the interesting use of language there is the overall story which is an engrossing tale of hope and memory and storytelling. I don’t know that it is the easiest book for children to appreciate and I would consider it to be a picture book for children over six years old but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It does have a great message about finding hope when everything around you feels dark and barren. And it supplies the all important happy ending.

But the story isn’t the only reason this book was shortlisted. The specific category for the nomination is Picture Book of the Year so I can’t really have a review without talking about the beautiful illustrations in this book. The book uses tones and shadows so beautifully. And for a book that relies so heavily on black and white in the illustrations it never feels depressing. In fact, the book always seems to come across as hopeful and Stephen Michael King uses colours and specific, focussed drawings so sparingly that it makes a huge impact. The book also finishes with a few pages that are gorgeously light.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and may use it at one of my Bookstars sessions.

If you’ve read this book I would love to know what you thought.


Jessica

Author: Jessica

I was a teacher for six years before becoming a Young People's Services Librarian. I taught everything from kindy to year seven and I'm really excited to be working towards greater early literacy with the children of Cockburn.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

The Duck and The Darklings – CBW Review

by Jessica time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1