Tea & Sugar Christmas – Children’s Book Week Review

Did you know that for 81 years (from 1915 until 1996) a train travelled from Kalgoorlie to Port Augusta delivering provisions to the workers and their families that lived in the settlements along the train line? Until I read Tea and Sugar Christmas by Jane Jolly and Robert Ingpen, I was unaware of exactly how this service worked.

Tea and Sugar Christmas

These workers – fellers, maintenance workers, and gangers, who were in charge of a group of labourers – lived in basic railway camps along the railway line and it was their job to maintain the line across the Nullabor Plain. The train, known as the Tea and Sugar train, delivered provisions, services, and a link to the world beyond these tiny settlements. The arrival of the train was the biggest event around and children and adults alike would watch out for the train coming. And, once a year, before Christmas, Father Christmas arrived on the slow mixed goods train No. 5205. Which brings us to our story:

Nullabor Plain

Image © Google Maps

This book is referred to as a narrative non-fiction. This means that it tells a story that is created using fact. And not the ‘based on real events’ that we see in so many bio-pics.

The book mixes a section with photos, dates, maps, and facts about the Tea and Sugar train with the story of a young girl – Kathleen who discovers they have no sugar or tea at the beginning of the book. The train comes through once a week – on Thursday – and they will have to make do. But it’s a special train this time around – it’s the Christmas train and Santa is going to be visiting. This actually happened every year around Christmas time and the children who visited Santa received a gift – no child missed out. It was the best day of the whole year. The story part of the book follows Kathleen as she waits for the train, and Santa, and then her excitement when he finally arrives.

The book is a lovely read and it combines black and white pencil drawings with fold out, full colour, illustrations – included a centre fold out with a picture of the whole train.

I enjoyed reading this book and whether you save it for Christmas as a book to talk about how Christmas is different for everyone, a book to show children how the remote parts of WA differ from our lives here in Perth, or just a nice picture book to read there is a lot on offer with this book. Definitely one I would recommend.

Tea and Sugar Christmas

 

Tea and Sugar Christmas was shortlisted for the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Book of the Year – in the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books category.

Tea and Sugar Christmas also recently won the ABIA2015 Award for Small Publishers’ Children’s Book of the Year.


Jessica

Author: Jessica

I was a teacher for six years before becoming a Young People's Services Librarian. I taught everything from kindy to year seven and I'm really excited to be working towards greater early literacy with the children of Cockburn.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Tea & Sugar Christmas – Children’s Book Week Review

by Jessica time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1