Something Wonderful – Children’s Book Week Review

Something Wonderful
illustrated by Karen Blair and written by Raewyn Caisley

Here is another lovely book to be nominated as a “notable book” by The Children’s Book Council of Australia for Children’s Book Week 2017 in the Picture Book of the Year 2017 category.

Something Wonderful is a story about a boy named Sam. Sam and his family lived on a farm, so as you can imagine, he had a lot of chores and other things do. Sam seemed to be a bit of a daydreamer, though, getting distracted and sidetracked and occasionally even completely forgetting to do his chores! But Sam was also a thinker.

“He pulled things apart … then put them back together.”

Sam’s dad wasn’t so sure Sam was ‘making himself useful’ but his mum didn’t mind so much when he forgot his chores …

” ‘What he’s doing is important too,’ she told Dad. ‘You’ll see.’ “

I won’t spoil the story by going any further but I will say that this story (and illustrations) is a delightfully light, airy and easy-going tale that has some beautiful and, I think, important wisdom to convey. I use the word ‘wisdom’ here rather than ‘message’ because unfortunately I think ‘message’ books – regardless of how positive and important the messages are – have become increasingly unsubtle and preachy these days and are a bit of a blunt instrument that takes you out of the story space and, bascially, kind of ruin the joy of reading a bit. I have always found that an idea/wisdom/way of thinking about something/’message’ has more meaning, power and lasting effect if it comes to the reader’s mind in it’s own time. A well told story, no matter how short or simple, is always able to convey meaning through a more natural, unconscious and unpressured way that puts the narrative, characters and enjoyment of the tale first. This is a book I would put in that category and is, for me, all the more enjoyable for it.

I can’t put it better than the publishers themselves have written on the back cover: ” … An inspirational story about discovery, invention and the importance of dreams.”

Dreaming, daydreaming, just mucking around, or even ‘goofing off’ [if you’re a real grump! – Ed.] has it’s place in life and especially in the lives of children in the form of unstructured play. There are many reports and studies over a long period of time that I could link to on this topic (and bore you with) that show the long term benefits this kind of play has for the mental, physical and general developement and wellbeing of children – and the adults they become – but I won’t. I don’t want this review to become ironically preachy and message trumpeting!

There is a nice dedication inside the front of the book that speaks directly to this and it’s worth putting here, in full, just in case you don’t get around to reading this little gem of a picture book:

“Sam is a real person. He grew up in a small country town in Western Australia. He works at a famous university in Europe, where he is trying to figure out what is in-between the smallest things. This book is dedicated to Sam, and to all the creative thinkers. R.C.”

We’re not all going to become whizz-bang rocket scientists but that’s not really the point; creativity in play and thought is about having a go, getting your hands dirty and, in your own time and at your own pace, working stuff out. With any luck, you’ll be raising a child that will be able to work stuff out for themselves as they get older – and isn’t that a gift worth giving them?


David

Author: David

I'm a library officer at Success Public Library. My main claims to fame are that I process new books and I present our local Pram Jam sessions. I've recently taught myself to (sort of) play the ukulele for these sessions - luckily, a lot of rhymes only seem to need two chords!

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Something Wonderful – Children’s Book Week Review

by David time to read: 3 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    18
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    9
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    12
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    29
    0
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    14
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    32
    1
  • We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time. #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater

    cockburnlibraries: "We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time.  #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater"
    19
    0
  • Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw

    cockburnlibraries: "Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw"
    17
    0
  • Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek. . #cityofcockburn #libraries

    cockburnlibraries: "Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek.
.
#cityofcockburn #libraries"
    33
    4