Snail & Turtle are Friends – Book Week Review

Snail and Turtle are Friends, written and illustrated by Stephen Michael King, has been nominated for Book of the Year: Early Childhood by the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) in their 2015 awards short list.

snail and turtle are friends

Snail and Turtle are Friends is a very simple tale most suited to young children from one to five years of age. As suggested in the title, the two main characters are Snail and Turtle. These two simple characters have a lovely friendship that is not affected by their differences. They like different things and do the same things differently. Snail likes to eat leaves, Turtle prefers flowers. Snail likes to climb and slide whereas Turtle likes to dive and swim. Snail likes to paint swirls while Turtle likes to paint shapes and blobs. But like all friends they enjoy doing things together, whether that be walking, running, hiding, painting or sharing quiet time.

snail and turtle hiding

Interestingly, while the minimal dialogue makes a specific point of Snail and Turtle being different from each other, it is also very obvious that they have similarities. To begin with, they both live in shells. They also both like being outdoors, the rain, reading, painting and playing together. So while the emphasis is placed on Snail and Turtle being different, they also have many things in common.

snail and turtle running

The bright, colourful, animated illustrations are what set this book apart. They effectively capture the affinity, emotion and playfulness within the friendship, as well as the individual personalities of Snail and Turtle. It is ultimately a heartwarming book about friendship and that age old message that being different doesn’t affect the bonds of friendship. Because it is a very gentle story, with the illustrations being central to its charm, it would make a wonderful bedtime story. It even ends with Snail and Turtle both tucked up in their shells asleep beneath the night sky.

Stephen Michael King

 

Did You Know? Stephen Michael King loves Vegemite toast and sometimes likes to dance like a wild thing! But just like me, he does not like horror movies.

creative-turtle

 


Karen

Author: Karen

I completed my tertiary qualification in Library and Information Studies in 1991 and began my career as a Librarian at the Supreme Court Law Library in 1992. Later that same year, I took a position as a Reference Librarian at the Perth Public Library and have been working in public libraries ever since. I have become very interested in the importance of early literacy and the significant relationship between reading for pleasure and the future success of a child.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Snail & Turtle are Friends – Book Week Review

by Karen time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    18
    2
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1