Short & (sometimes) sweet reviews by library staff #7

You want to read a new book, listen to some tunes or watch a movie but you’re not sure what to choose? Our collection is too diverse? Trust the Cockburn Libraries team to help you decide. 

Train

Mary

The girl on the train / Paula Hawkins – The girl on the train is a gripping story of a woman who sees something shocking from the train window one morning and begins her own murder investigation.
I really enjoyed it and it certainly keeps you hooked right until the end.

 

Sandra

The yellow room conspiracy : a crime novel / Peter Dickinson – If you like cleverly written detective stories, with real people you can believe in, this crime novel is the one for you. There is something to bite on in every chapter and the writing style lets you stroll among the players while absorbing the plot.

yellow room conspiracy

treme

Mally

Treme [DVD] – Happy/sad – just picked up Treme [dvd] : the complete fourth season. Happy – as this means I can immerse myself yet again in the wicked, wonderful streets of New Orleans for a few hours and listen to some great traditional and contemporary music.
Sad because this is the 4th and last season and no longer can I follow the lives and loves of some of The Big Easy’s musicians, chefs, police officers in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

This tv series was created by David Simon and Eric Overmyer who first worked together on the successful series The Wire,  goes beyond the food and music that New Orleans is famous for and explores political and police corruption, the public housing controversy and the need to attract tourist back to the struggling city after the storm.
Be prepared to give over many hours to being thoroughly entertained but also to suffer a reluctance to return to say goodbye to ‘Norleans’ when the last credits roll.

Sarah

The eye of the sheep / Sofie Laguna – I took this book away with me on holidays with no expectations. It took me a chapter or so to get into it before I was transported into the world of Jimmy,
A little boy who sees the world differently than others, whom only his mother understands and whom, through heartbreak and sorrow ultimately shows a deep inner wisdom about life. It’s written so beautifully, a blend of pathos and humour and I savoured every sentence.

eye of the sheep

the-dressmaker

Sue-Ellen

The Dressmaker / Rosalie Ham – Dark and Funny – Cross-dressing, enjoying same-sex relationships, cheating on spouses, and abusing their spouses form the fabric of life in Dungatar. The one thing they will not condone is unwed motherhood and illegitimacy. After twenty years away, Myrtle “Tilly” Dunnage returns to where it all began. I am a BorrowBox devotee.

 

Chantelle

The fast diet : the simple secret of intermittent fasting : lose weight, stay healthy, live longer / Dr. Michael Mosley & Mimi Spencer  – My mum has been nagging me to read this book for over six months; she has had some success with the program, she has dropped over 14kg and is now medication free for her diabetes. I finally got around to it, mostly out of necessity and desperation – (I did really, really well at the Christmas eating this year). I’ve been following the 5:2 program for 3 weeks now and I’m seeing the benefits already; weight loss, clearer skin, better sleeping patterns. I’m a fan.

fast diet

Want more reviews? Check out the all the previous Short & (sometimes) sweet reviews by library staff


JenP

Author: JenP

Hi, my name is Jen and I work at the Spearwood Public Library. I help with the Home Library Service and take care of the new items that come in. I love movies so if you need help choosing one don't hesitate to come and ask me...

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Short & (sometimes) sweet reviews by library staff #7

by JenP time to read: 4 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Santorini, Greece

    Pinned: 24 May 2016
  • FINALLY GOING TO SANTORINI!!! Its been on my vision board forever, but only since applying THE SECRET to my life has this manifested!! my friend whos a travel agent found me the best deal on a normally expensive holiday!!!

    Pinned: 24 May 2016
  • Fun rainy day craft - Paper plate umbrella

    Pinned: 20 May 2016
  • How to make a vision board and chase your dreams ( step-by-step guide), via Career Girl Daily

    Pinned: 18 May 2016
  • cherry blossoms in paris, france.

    Pinned: 18 May 2016
  • elementary library poster | Dewey Decimal System poster from Brooklyn Expedition | IST Library and ...

    Pinned: 13 May 2016
  • How to use the Dewey Decimal System

    Pinned: 13 May 2016
  • DEWEY DECIMAL FAIRYTALES - I love this

    Pinned: 13 May 2016
  • Over 10 ideas for using Sharpie Markers with kids. Some you've never seen before! busykidshappymom.org

    Pinned: 13 May 2016
  • Little Family Fun: F is for FAMILY

    Pinned: 13 May 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • We are lucky enough to have Mayor Howlett at our @alianational Simultaneous Storytime this morning at Coolbellup Library. #library #nss2016 #storytime #librariesofinstagram #librarylife

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "We are lucky enough to have Mayor Howlett at our @alianational Simultaneous Storytime this morning at Coolbellup Library. #library #nss2016 #storytime #librariesofinstagram #librarylife"
    15
    0
  • Getting ready for National Simultaneous Storytime #nss2016 #nss2016showprep #library #librarylife #librariesofinstagram #storytime at Coolbellup Library

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "Getting ready for National Simultaneous Storytime #nss2016 #nss2016showprep #library #librarylife #librariesofinstagram #storytime at Coolbellup Library"
    11
    0
  • Melody got this hat from the railway station #nss2016 #storytime #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #library

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "Melody got this hat from the railway station #nss2016 #storytime #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #library"
    9
    0
  • I got this hat at the library #nss2016 #librariesofinstagram #funinthelibrary #librarylife #library #nationalsimultaneousstorytime @alianational

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "I got this hat at the library #nss2016 #librariesofinstagram #funinthelibrary #librarylife #library #nationalsimultaneousstorytime @alianational"
    18
    0
  • We're playing with our food and making some food sculptures this #schoolholiday it's such fun. #librarylife #librariesofinstagram #librariesofinstagram #funinthelibrary

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "We're playing with our food and making some food sculptures this #schoolholiday it's such fun. #librarylife #librariesofinstagram #librariesofinstagram #funinthelibrary"
    16
    0
  • We're having a ball with @constablecare and learning about #protectivebehaviours and Fun-Scary feelings. #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #schoolholiday #library

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "We're having a ball with @constablecare and learning about #protectivebehaviours and Fun-Scary feelings. #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #schoolholiday #library"
    20
    1
  • Last #pramjam for term one. It'll be back in two weeks. #schoolholiday starts on Monday. #library #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #earlyliteracy

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "Last #pramjam for term one. It'll be back in two weeks. #schoolholiday starts on Monday. #library #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #earlyliteracy"
    16
    1
  • Cockburn Libraries by the numbers. 📚📊 #february2016 #piktochart #infographic #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #statistics #numbers

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "Cockburn Libraries by the numbers. 📚📊 #february2016  #piktochart #infographic #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #statistics #numbers"
    14
    1
  • Mayor Howlett opened Hello Baby. It's been a great day but we're not quite done yet. Come and visit us before 12:30. #outreach #librariesofinstagram #library #fun

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "Mayor Howlett opened Hello Baby. It's been a great day but we're not quite done yet. Come and visit us before 12:30. #outreach #librariesofinstagram #library #fun"
    18
    3
  • Hello Baby is all set up. Now we just need some wonderful visitors. Hello Baby a @cityofcockburn event, is at Manning Park starting at 10am and finishes at 12:30. There will be #entertainment #fun and it's all in a lovely park. Come and visit us. #library #librariesofinstagram #outreach

    cockburnpubliclibraries: "Hello Baby is all set up. Now we just need some wonderful visitors. Hello Baby a @cityofcockburn event, is at Manning Park starting at 10am and finishes at 12:30. There will be #entertainment #fun and it's all in a lovely park. Come and visit us. #library #librariesofinstagram #outreach"
    15
    0