Short & (sometimes) sweet reviews by library staff

Here at Success Library, we have access to thousands of books and movies. Some of our staff have put together quick reviews of our recent loans.

Do you agree or disagree with our opinions? Please let us know what you think of these items from the library’s collection!

1     2     3

MATT

Ask the Butcher – If you want to know the lengths your butcher goes to getting you the perfect cut or how animals are raised on some Australia’s best farms, watch this series. Each episode focuses on a different protein and a different celebrity chef. But take my advice! Make sure you have something tasty in the fridge at the end of the episode!

Two fists one heart is a movie filmed in Perth, If you just like boxing and a film that is honest at heart this will be something you enjoy. If you like solid storylines and good acting, maybe look at Million Dollar Baby.

JESSICA

Elementary Season 1 – As a TV show it’s passable. As an adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes series by Arthur Conan Doyle it is woeful and a perfect example of ruining the basic characteristic of two very well-crafted literary characters. I would suggest reading the books instead. Or the movies/TV show.

4     5     6

MICHAELA

Amnesia by Peter Carey – Despite this being a very popular author, I couldn’t get into it and only read half.

Time and time again by Ben Elton – Another memorable and thought-provoking novel from one of my favourite authors.

Heston’s great British food – Heston can do no wrong as far as I am concerned. The chocolate episode was like paradise on the screen for me.

7     8     9

KIM

Tony Joe White – 71 years old and still awesome! If you weren’t among the lucky audience at the Astor last Sunday,  try his album Hoodoo for a taste of his atmospheric, swampy country blues.

The Iron King by Maurice Druon – The best historical novel I have read in a long time. Five out of five thumbs up!

CHANTELLE

Flesh and blood by Patricia Cornwell  – Patricia Cornwell is one of my favourite authors, but I just couldn’t get into this one, my advice – don’t bother. Disappointed.

10     11

MELODY

An angry, ageing, hungover, oil-rig worker, safety officer, divorcee turned superhero fights ancient subterranean man-eating monsters. What more can I say? Read Emergence by John Birmingham.

MICHELLE

My 7 year old daughter recently read and fell in love with the Magic Animal Friends series by Daisy Meadows, starting – out of order – with Poppy Muddlepup’s Daring Rescue. In her words: “These are the best books EVER!”. (This is VERY high praise from an avid little reader!)


Michaela

Author: Michaela

I'm a Library Officer at Cockburn Libraries. My favourite things are my family, Thermomixing, binge-watching TV series and reading (of course!!) Most recent library loan: Flame in the mist by Renée Ahdieh.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Short & (sometimes) sweet reviews by library staff

by Michaela time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    18
    2
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1