Review: Battlestar Galactica

Battlestar Galactica (or more affectionately known as BSG) is a formidable series that spans a pilot miniseries (2003), 4 seasons (2004-2009), webisodes (The Resistance, Razor Flashbacks and The Face of the Enemy), two feature-length films (The Plan and Razor) and yet another feature length pilot (Caprica) – all of which stem from the 1978-79 brainchild of Glen A Larson.

The series features a quintessential space war between humanity and a human-made (originally) robotic race – the Cylons. The series starts with the unexpected near-obliteration of the human civilisation (spread across twelve planets – the Twelve Colonies) by the Cylons who have returned with dramatic vengeance (and a ‘plan’) to destroy their makers (and enslavers). A mere 50,000 humans survive the attack (from a civilisation of 20 billion (approximate figures)) and live on various spaceships, including the war vessel Battlestar Galactica.

What ensues is an epic collection of battles, chases, rescue operations, espionage, revolts, love, religious questioning and so much more; all rooted in the basic instinct of survival which pits both races against each other in an dramatic race to find and claim a new home – ‘Earth’. Moral questioning of nature of humanity and role of religion underlies much of the series and provides a gripping backdrop and a certain intellectual depth to the characters and their actions throughout the series. The spectacular and endearing qualities of the series are also maintained by the exceptional cast, storyline, visual effects and score (I particularly like the version of the theme song played during the credits of The Plan).

A highly recommended series!

Seasons 1 through 4 are available, as well as Razor and The Plan from Cockburn Libraries (click here).

– Review by Maya, Casual Library Officer


Cockburn Libraries

Author: Cockburn Libraries

Hi, I'm Cockburn Libraries. My posts will usually be of a general nature and will be on topics such as the Libraries' opening times during holiday periods and information about our various services. You may also find me posting on behalf of our work experience students and casual staff members. Come and visit me soon...

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Review: Battlestar Galactica

by Cockburn Libraries time to read: 1 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1