Piranhas Don’t Eat Bananas – Children’s Book Week Review

Piranhas Don’t Eat Bananas

It’s time again for me to review one of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia’s 2016 Shortlisted Book for Early Childhood. This is one of three books that Aaron Blabey had in the Notable list this year, you can see my review of Pig the Fibber and I’ll be reviewing I Need A Hug as well.

piranhas-don-t-eat-bananas

Brian is not your ‘normal’ piranha…he likes to eat peas and plums, while the other piranhas would rather eat knees and bums (Blabey has gone for the best possible rhymes for children in this age range). I have never read this book without some laughs, and I often laugh. I enjoy this brand of rhyming humour. Plus, I can’t remember the last time I read a book that talked about silverbeet and I love silverbeet (we always used it whenever a recipe called for spinach and it’s really good steamed with some cabbage and carrots…but this isn’t the recipe review).

The piranhas get rather angry about Brian’s constant request for them to eat fruits and vegetables…sound familiar? And Brian just wants them to try his fruit platter. In the end they do. On that double page spread when they do Brian looks so hopeful and the piranhas are attacking the fruit platter. The end is similar to another great ‘try it before you say you don’t like it’ book – Green Eggs and Ham, except the allure of eating bums might just be too great for these piranhas.

Looking at the pictures of Brian against the other group of piranhas it’s interesting to note the way Blabey has distinguished the two – Brian’s eyes are less red, his skin is a slightly different shade of green, his has no warts, and overall he looks happier. I would assume that this is a deliberate decision and an excellent example of how pictures can be used to send messages and why developing picture literacy is so important. The message here is a good one – fruits and vegetables are good for you, but encouraging children to be able to see what the picture is trying to get you to think assists when the message might be less positive.

One of my favourite things about the illustrations in this book are the expressions that Blabey gives Brian, and the way that that allows him to interact with the reader. I enjoy the humour of both the rhyme and the pictures and I really enjoy reading this book with children.

One thing to check out in this book that you might miss is just inside of the front cover. There is a delightful little blurb about piranhas and some information on them the goes from the honest to the slightly absurd.


Jessica

Author: Jessica

I was a teacher for six years before becoming a Young People's Services Librarian. I taught everything from kindy to year seven and I'm really excited to be working towards greater early literacy with the children of Cockburn.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Piranhas Don’t Eat Bananas – Children’s Book Week Review

by Jessica time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1