Pig the Fibber – Children’s Book Week Review

It’s time for my next review of one of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Shortlisted books – this is in the same category as Mr Huff – Book of the Year: Early Childhood.

Pig the Fibber
Pig the Fibber
by Aaron Blabey

This is the first of the three books that Aaron Blabey had in the Notable list this year in this same category. I will be reviewing all three so keep an eye out.

Pig is a pug, and this is his third outing.

At the heart of this book is the fact that Pig is a cautionary tale. Similar to ‘The Boy Who Cried Wolf’ this book deals with lying. Pig is a fibber who blames everything on Trevor (the other dog in his household). This may feel familiar, like a small child who blames their siblings for things they have done wrong…not that I ever did that of course. The book goes through talking about Pug’s naughty lies and fibs and how it affects Trevor. Then Pig plans his big naughty act and it doesn’t go quite according to plan.

I would like to think that Pig has learned his lesson but it seems that he may have some more lessons to learn. In his first book Pig the Pug, Pig is a greedy and selfish and will not share. In the next book, Pig the Winner, Pig will do anything to win. At the end of each book, there is a bad consequence for the behaviour that Pig exhibits and he ‘learns his lesson’. I love these books because they use humour, rhyme, and lovely illustrations to exaggerate behaviours that all children dabble in at different times. And it doesn’t preach so much as gently nudges (with a bowling ball) Pig in the right direction. Children can look at it and identify what Pig is doing wrong. And they can see the humour in the act that ends up setting him on the ‘right’ path.

Some people don’t like Aaron Blabey’s illustrations but I am not one of them. I like the odd realism to Pig’s shape and the gigantic eyes that seem to be Blabey’s trademark. The illustrations are not busy but they are humorous and add to the story without involving much background detail – lots of his backgrounds are the white page but the illustrations still deepen the meaning of the text. The writing uses rhyming wonderfully and these books are always really enjoyable to read for their well-paced rhythm and humour.

This book was also Shortlisted for the WAYRBA Picture Book 2016.

I’m giving this one four out of five – it is quite a fun read.

If you’ve read this book, we’d love to know what you thought.


Jessica

Author: Jessica

I was a teacher for six years before becoming a Young People's Services Librarian. I taught everything from kindy to year seven and I'm really excited to be working towards greater early literacy with the children of Cockburn.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Pig the Fibber – Children’s Book Week Review

by Jessica time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1