A Patch From Scratch – Children’s Book Week Review

A Patch From Scratch by Megan Forward

Book Cover - A Patch From Scratch” title=“View this item in the library catalogue

was Shortlisted for Crichton Award for New Illustrators and was Notable for Picture Book of the Year Children’s Book Council Awards 2017. As well as being Shortlisted for the Speech Pathology Australia 2016 Book of the Year: Five to 8 Years.

When I moved into my house, one of the first things I did was plant myself some fruit trees (red grapefruit, kaffia lime, lemon, lime, apple, mandarin, and a hybrid tree of unknown origin from my brother that I will identify when it fruits) because I’m not a natural gardener…and don’t really enjoy it or want to spend all my time weeding and doing garden things. But, I wanted something that would be useful (I love fruit and cooking with fruit) but also something that would encourage bees and birds to my house especially since I’m in a newer area. I know I will never be a person who spends my free time creating garden beds and composting or growing enough fruits and vegetables to bring in to work to share. But, even I wanted to create a patch from scratch.

See my awesome segway into this book – A Patch From Scratch, all about a family (told through the youngest child) who wants to be more self-sufficient and more ‘farm-like’ on their suburban block. The book takes you through their whole journey from idea to planning, implementation, and the way it involves more people than just their immediate family, as well as the way it can impact on their sense of community with neighbours. We have a few people that work at the library who have chickens, harvest honey, grow lots of fruits and vegetables in their backyard and as I read this book I thought about all of them.

This book could fit in as a narrative non-fiction (meaning it tells a story but does so truthfully and with facts interspersed). But, we have put it in the picture book (junior kindergarten) section because this book deals with one of those topics that, in my opinion, becomes more important the further we get away from the agricultural society we once were. Talking to children about where their food comes from is a bit part of making them aware of their world and the impact they can have on it, and the way our habits affect people who own a farm hundreds or thousands of kilometres from where we live.

But, this book might also be the inspiration behind your own little garden at your home.
If you have small spaces: The Little Veggie Patch Co. : how to grow food in small spaces by Fabian Capomolla and Mat Pember
Or, if you want more information specifically about involving children in the process: The Garden Cook : grow, cook and eat with kids by Fiona Inglis

Throughout the book there are spots of additional information supplied about the layout (simple maps), illustrations telling us how compost works, why worms are important, and detailing the strawberry diary that our main character keeps, as well as further reading and information at the back. I am no longer a practicing teacher but this is the perfect type of book to build a theme around and allows the class, or family, to make their own compost heap, look into companion planting (and thereby learn from those who came before), plant a garden, look at safe, sustainable, and natural pest management, and then enjoy the fruits, and vegetables, of your labour.

I’m giving this book 4.5 stars out of 5 because of the sheet potential I can see coming out of reading it.

I did manage, with very little effort or know how to grown onions and capsicums…


Jessica

Author: Jessica

I was a teacher for six years before becoming a Young People's Services Librarian. I taught everything from kindy to year seven and I'm really excited to be working towards greater early literacy with the children of Cockburn.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

A Patch From Scratch – Children’s Book Week Review

by Jessica time to read: 3 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    18
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    9
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    12
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    29
    0
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    14
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    32
    1
  • We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time. #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater

    cockburnlibraries: "We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time.  #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater"
    19
    0
  • Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw

    cockburnlibraries: "Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw"
    17
    0
  • Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek. . #cityofcockburn #libraries

    cockburnlibraries: "Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek.
.
#cityofcockburn #libraries"
    33
    4