Mechanica – Children’s Book Week review


Mechanica : a beginner’s field guide
  by Lance Balchin is a unique inclusion to the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Shortlist for Book of the Year 2017. It was also nominated for Picture Book of the Year and the Crichton Award for New Illustrators

“Welcome to future Earth. Despite repeated warnings, the environment has become polluted to such an extent that many areas of the globe have become uninhabitable, and wildlife is now extinct. From the ashes, a new style of ‘wildlife’ is created. Wildlife that will not remain harnessed by humankind… an encyclopedia of Mechanical creatures with a fictional narrative.” — publisher’s website.

This book is beautifully illustrated, enticing children and parents to spend time poring over the sketches, statistics and descriptions of the fantastical creatures.

The environmental subject matter can spark interesting discussions about the results of global warming and pollution with older children. Due to this and some advanced vocabulary, I recommend this book for ages seven and up.

 

If you or your children enjoy Mechanica, reserve Aquatica: a beginner’s field guide to discover the sea creatures from this mystical world.

 


Michaela

Author: Michaela

I'm a Library Officer at Cockburn Libraries. My favourite things are my family, Thermomixing, binge-watching TV series and reading (of course!!) Most recent library loan: Flame in the mist by Renée Ahdieh.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Mechanica – Children’s Book Week review

by Michaela time to read: 1 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    18
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    9
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    12
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    29
    0
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    14
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    32
    1
  • We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time. #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater

    cockburnlibraries: "We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time.  #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater"
    19
    0
  • Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw

    cockburnlibraries: "Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw"
    17
    0
  • Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek. . #cityofcockburn #libraries

    cockburnlibraries: "Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek.
.
#cityofcockburn #libraries"
    33
    4