Mary’s Australia – Children’s Book Week Review

In 1942 Mary MacKillop was born in Fitzroy, Melbourne. At the same time the population of settlers was 240, 984 and most children did not attend school. In the country this was so that children could help on the family farm but in the city there was a prejudice against going to ‘English’ schools and swearing allegiance to the Queen of England.

This is how Mary’s Australia: How Mary MacKillop Changed Australia by Pamela Freeman starts.

Mary's Australia

The book, one of the non-fiction books shortlisted by the Children’s Council of Australia this year in the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books category.

The book starts with Mary MacKillop’s birth in 1842 and travels through her life. This book isn’t solely about Mary McKillop though – each section about Mary’s life is accompanied by a section on Australia as a whole and life for the ‘average’ Australian at the time.

At the beginning, at the time of her birth, there were four colonies in Australia – Western Australia, South Australia, New South Wales, and Van Diemen’s Land. Indigenous children were dying as a result of the diseases introduced by the Europeans. Tasmania was the only colony still accepting convicts from England.

Then, in 1865 when Mary is living in Portland, Victoria and teaching in a government school though she wants to return to South Australia and become a nun – her family’s financial situation is preventing her from doing it, however, by the next year she has moved to Penola, South Australia, and with Father Julian Tenison Woods she has set up her first school. Then we get a look at life in Australia – the ratio of the European population is evening out with 44% females to the 55% males which is mainly a result of reproduction. But the gold rush is no longer the mad rush that it was and there is a large amount of poverty and call for Mary’s work. In addition to this we get a glimpse into the life of women at the time – there were few opportunities for a woman if she wanted more from her life that marriage and children.

These are just a few snapshots into this very interesting and informative book. I would encourage children, and adults, to read this book for the snapshot of life at the time but also a perspective on Mary MacKillop that focusses more on her life that the religious canonisation that recently occurred.

I would recommend this book for children over 8 years.

This is just one of the Shortlisted books that have been reviewed this year by staff – check out the rest here.

 

 


Jessica

Author: Jessica

I was a teacher for six years before becoming a Young People's Services Librarian. I taught everything from kindy to year seven and I'm really excited to be working towards greater early literacy with the children of Cockburn.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Mary’s Australia – Children’s Book Week Review

by Jessica time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1