Kick with My Left Foot – Review

I have just finished the very lovely picture book ‘Kick with My Left Foot‘ by Paul Seden and Karen Briggs and if you wish to read your child a book about sheer perseverance, this is the one. It has been short listed by the Children’s Book Council of Australia for Book of the Year 2015 in the Crichton Award for New Illustrators category.

my left foot    Succeeding in the red dust and dirt.

A young Aboriginal boy plays football alone, on an oval of red dirt. He pulls on his socks, shoes and begins to bounce and catch the ball. His absolute devotion to the game and the rudiments of playing, is obvious. His joy and determination to master the game with only his dog for company is amazing to see. He bounces, throws, and runs until finally, he must kick with his left foot. Here is the stumbling block. Kicking with his right foot feels natural and easy but with his left, the footy is slippery as an eel. He and his dog sit and ponder, misery obvious on their face. Then, like the trooper he is, he jumps up and just keeps on trying. HE CAN KICK WITH HIS LEFT FOOT!

I love that moment in the story. He reaches this mental destination of I CAN on his own. There are no army of child therapists, beseeching parents or stern coaches to propel this young footy player to succeed. He has autonomy over his own actions and acts upon it. The beautiful simplicity of this story is emphasised by illustrations that are clear and bright yet filled with energy and movement. It perfectly captures a child’s love of what his body can do. The colour is dense yet the reader can see the isolation and starkness of the Australian outback. This unique setting of course highlights the young boy’s sense of being alone but not lonely. He is confident in his ability to succeed in his environment. It reminded me of how sports can play such an important role in a child’s life, particularly when they spend most of their time outdoors or thinking about their favourite sport stars.

I really enjoy a story about children succeeding and especially when it has been done in such a simple, poignant manner. The sense of mindfulness in the story (living in the now) is a message to all readers, young and old.

You can see what the Cockburn Library staff think about other shortlisted books here.


Shantelle

Author: Shantelle

Hi, I used to be the Youth Services Librarian for Coobellup Library. My role included running Story time, Creative Kids sessions and Lego Club. I really enjoyed my time working for Cockburn Libraries. Shantelle

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Kick with My Left Foot – Review

by Shantelle time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1