Juicy Science – an event and a book review

The October school holiday theme this year was ‘Science You Can Eat’ and on Tuesday at Success Library, we had great fun exploring and eating juicy science!

We performed three experiments that I found in a book named Edible science: experiments you can eat (more on the book later…)

Juicy science experiments

The three experiments/recipes were:

 

OSMOSIS – Juicy Fruit Salad – watch how juice is made

We mixed fruit with sugar and lemon juice then set it aside for 20 minutes. After this time, we could see that a syrup had been created. This is because juice from inside the fruit moved into the liquid to even out the ratio of water to sugar molecules… osmosis in action! Delicious osmosis. We all ate a big bowl of sweet fruit salad for morning tea.

 

 

ACID- BASE REACTION – Orange Soda – watch a reaction happen

This simple acid-base reaction involved mixing sodium bicarbonate (a base) with orange juice (citric acid) to produce bubbly carbon dioxide. The kids could then drink the fizzy orange “soda” but most chose to continue experimenting, adding more bicarb and creating lots of fun fizz!

 

 

EMULSION – Orange Vinaigrette (salad dressing) – some things won’t mix

“Oil and water don’t mix” but if you shake them in a jar, they will! This is called an emulsion and we made ours using olive oil, juice and vinegar (with optional salt and pepper). The children observed the layers formed by these ingredients then gave their vinaigrette a good shake to mix them up. We took home our salad dressings and my son and I enjoyed ours for lunch the following day.

 

 

Juicy science books

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Edible science: experiments you can eat includes these and many more fun and yummy food experiments. I particularly want to eat… I mean, make… the Baked Alaska. I’m going to try that one at home with my kids to investigate insulation (and make a delicious dessert!). The maple candy is also appealing to my sweet tooth 🙂

A similar book is Science experiments you can eat. I haven’t tried anything from that one yet so let me know how you go and what you learned about food and science!

Juicy science photos

I’ve included some of my favourite photos below but you can check out all of our school holiday Science You Can Eat fun HERE


Michaela

Author: Michaela

I'm a Library Officer at Cockburn Libraries. My favourite things are my family, Thermomixing, binge-watching TV series and reading (of course!!) Most recent library loan: Flame in the mist by Renée Ahdieh.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Juicy Science – an event and a book review

by Michaela time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1