Go to Sleep, Jessie! – Review

Go to sleep, Jessie! by Libby Gleeson and illustrated by Freya Blackwood has been nominated this year for Book of the Year: Early Childhood by the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) in their annual awards short list.

go-to-sleep-jessie

Go to sleep, Jessie! is a story about a young girl who suddenly finds that the peace and quiet of her room has been invaded by her new baby sister and her cot. Both siblings find themselves very unhappy with the new sleeping arrangements, which have baby Jessie screaming and crying and unable to settle down to sleep.

LIT014_GotoSleepJessie_Internals_SCREEN-6

Her sister doesn’t understand why Jessie won’t be quiet and go to sleep and is becoming somewhat grumpy and resentful of the new arrangements. Since it is their fault she demands Mum and Dad do something about it. Mum comes up to calm her but she soon starts crying again when mum leaves the room. Dad decides to drive her around the block until she falls asleep. At first the older sister is happy for the peace but, despite herself,  she soon finds the quiet to be overbearing and lonely.

GTSJ_13

This is a great book to read to children who are coming to terms with the arrival of a new sibling and the changes that are occurring. Sitting and reading this story with them will no doubt help them to understand not just their own feelings about the situation but the feelings and perspective of all the other members of the family.

Take a look at the full 2015 Awards short list and read more staff reviews of some of these fine titles. The winners will be announced the Friday before Children’s Book Week which runs Saturday, 22nd August – Friday, 28th August 2015.

Have you already read some of these titles? Have you enjoyed one that we haven’t reviewed? Then why not leave a comment and tell us all about it.


David

Author: David

I'm a library officer at Success Public Library. My main claims to fame are that I process new books and I present our local Pram Jam sessions. I've recently taught myself to (sort of) play the ukulele for these sessions - luckily, a lot of rhymes only seem to need two chords!

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Go to Sleep, Jessie! – Review

by David time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1