The Gigantic Book of Genes – Children’s Book Week Review

Children’s Book Week is an exciting time for library staff and a chance to read books that we may not usually borrow from the library. This week, I’m reviewing a book from the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Shortlist for Book of the Year 2017.

The gigantic book of genes by Lorna Hendry comes from our junior non-fiction collection and has been nominated for the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books this year.

This book is a clear and interesting introduction to genetics. The large text and bright pictures are appealing to children, whilst providing facts about this fascinating area of science and the human body. You can see some sample pages from the book here.

I took this book home for my eight year old and he said “I liked this book because it explains how genes work, what genes are and it tells you how to test your genes. My favourite part was when it told me that I share 98% DNA with cats, 82% DNA with dogs, mice share 70% DNA and bananas share 50% DNA with humans!”

Are your kids interested in genetics? They can also check out The Usborne internet-linked introduction to genes & DNA , DNA & genetic engineering or this TED-Ed video.


Michaela

Author: Michaela

I'm a Library Officer at Cockburn Libraries. My favourite things are my family, Thermomixing, binge-watching TV series and reading (of course!!) Most recent library loan: The girl before by JP Delaney

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

The Gigantic Book of Genes – Children’s Book Week Review

by Michaela time to read: 1 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Entry box for Children's Book Week competition. Someone's going to win an iPad

    cockburnlibraries: "Entry box for Children's Book Week competition.  Someone's going to win an iPad"
    10
    1
  • It seems library bags aren't just for books #internationalcatday. #cat #catsofinstagram #librarybag #libraries

    cockburnlibraries: "It seems library bags aren't just for books #internationalcatday.
#cat #catsofinstagram #librarybag #libraries"
    30
    0
  • The countdown is on. It's almost time to #escapetoeverywhere this #cbw The Children's Book Week celebrations start on August 18 with #storytime #pramjams #rhymetime #competitions and more. Check out our website now for all of the information. #kidsactivities #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents

    cockburnlibraries: "The countdown is on. It's almost time to #escapetoeverywhere this #cbw The Children's Book Week celebrations start on August 18 with #storytime #pramjams #rhymetime #competitions and more. Check out our website now for all of the information. #kidsactivities #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents"
    21
    0
  • Come and visit us at Len Packham Hall in Coolbellup at the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children's Day #natsicd there is lots of information and even a #sausagesizzle 3:30-5pm today #kidsactivities #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #indigenous

    cockburnlibraries: "Come and visit us at Len Packham Hall in Coolbellup at the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children's Day #natsicd there is lots of information and even a #sausagesizzle 3:30-5pm today #kidsactivities #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #indigenous"
    21
    0
  • Science books? We've got heaps #scienceweek #natsciwk.

    cockburnlibraries: "Science books? We've got heaps #scienceweek #natsciwk."
    14
    0
  • When you find a book from 1986 on the shelf. . #80s #librarybooks #library #book #awfullibrarybooks

    cockburnlibraries: "When you find a book from 1986 on the shelf.
.
#80s #librarybooks #library #book #awfullibrarybooks"
    39
    2
  • Who let the dogs out?

    cockburnlibraries: "Who let the dogs out?"
    21
    1
  • Come check out Success Library's new #booksale every is $2. Coolbellup and Spearwood have them too for pre-loved #library #books #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #librarybooks

    cockburnlibraries: "Come check out Success Library's new #booksale every is $2. Coolbellup and Spearwood have them too for pre-loved #library #books #librariesofinstagram #librarylife #librarybooks"
    22
    0
  • New #lego stocks have arrived just in time for Friday's Lego Club

    cockburnlibraries: "New #lego stocks have arrived just in time for Friday's Lego Club"
    32
    0
  • It's raining, it's pouring, the new dogs are not snoring. They think it's neat, they like the beat, and we'll all hear thunder by morning. #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #raining #rainydays

    cockburnlibraries: "It's raining, it's pouring, the new dogs are not snoring. They think it's neat, they like the beat, and we'll all hear thunder by morning. #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #raining #rainydays"
    25
    0