February book roundup

February’s been an exciting month for books here at the library.
(well, every month’s an exciting month for books, when you’re in a library…)

We’ve got new books pouring in, old favourites flying out the doors, and a few dark horses surprising us all. Let’s have a look at February, in books – click on the links to go straight to the catalogue.

Just released

Some ever-popular authors have had new books out this month – one of James Patterson’s romances, First Love, about two teenage cancer patients (sounds a bit like one of our perennial favourites, The Fault in Our Stars, which is currently flying out the door as everyone tries to read it before the movie comes out later this year!)

Jack Higgins brought out The Death Trade, a thriller in the best tradition, throwing his hero Sean Dillon in the path of terrorists and nuclear weapons.

Barbara Taylor Bradford, getting into the Downton Abbey spirit, released Cavendon Hall, a family saga that begins in 1913 and follows the fates of the aristocratic Ingham family, and their servants the Swanns.

And Perth local Shona Husk, who recently visited us at Spearwood Library, has the newest installment in her Annwyn series, Lord of the Hunt, a fiery paranormal romance in the tradition of J.R. Ward and Patricia Briggs (read Jessica’s review of Shona’s book The Goblin King

Upcoming

Aussie author P.M. Newton’s second book in the Detective Nhu ‘Ned’ Kelly series, Beams Falling, has just been released, and should be on our shelves before long, along with the first installment, The Old School.

Newton’s fellow Australian ‘Sister in Crime’ Kathryn Fox has also just released her newest Anya Crichton thriller, Fatal Impact, which we’re expecting any day now.

One of the most-talked-about books of the new year is about to be released: Brandon Sanderson’s Words of Radiance, second book in his new series The Stormlight Archives. For fans of Game of Thrones who can’t wait for Season 4, the first in Sanderson’s series, The Way of Kings, is available now. Challenge yourself to read all 1007 pages before the new book comes out!


Joanne Harris, of Chocolat fame, has just published a new fantasy for adults, called The Gospel of Loki. Fans of the Avengers, approach with caution – this Loki is no Tom Hiddleston (although he might be a bit more fun!)

Last but not least, Jeffrey Archer’s newest is bound to cause a frenzy. Be Careful What You Wish For is family drama, thriller and intrigue – just what his fans ordered!

Popular

To no one’s surprise, The Book Thief has been too hot to handle this past month. With the movie released earlier this year, everyone wanted to get their fill of the book before they experienced Liesel’s story on the big screen (although we suspect some people are still waiting!)

Sarah Wilson’s breakthrough detox cookbook I Quit Sugar is still going strong, and with her new companion I Quit Sugar For Life released yesterday, we’re only anticipating more demand.

Graeme Simsion’s debut novel The Rosie Project has gone from strength to strength, growing in popularity since its January 2013 release, and it seems to be going gangbusters with our Cockburn Libraries patrons recently. Anyone tell us why?

Another mysteriously popular book that has us scratching our heads lately is Opening the Door to Your Heart, and other Buddhist Tales of Happiness, by Ajahn Brahm. Published in 2004, this little book of wisdom and stories by a Buddhist monk has chugged along happily until recently, when it’s been requested and requested again by our loyal borrowers. Any clues that could shed light on its sudden popularity would be welcomed.

And finally, a dark horse that has won the hearts of many, Letters of Note: Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audience by Shaun Usher, from the blog of the same name, is proving to be just as popular as its online counterpart. Check out the heartwarming, fascinating and funny blog while you wait for the book to sit on our shelves for more than half a minute!

Lastly…

Loretta Hill, Mandy Magro, Fiona Palmer, Rachael Treasure, Fleur McDonald… if any of these names ring a bell, you might just be a fan of Rural Romance, the latest genre craze to be sweeping Aussie publishing!
Taking the stunning Australian outback as its setting, rural romance pits its tough women characters against the elements, against tradition, and even against themselves. The authors are all genuine country girls themselves, and write from years’ worth of experiences living on stations and farms, riding, droving and working hard. We’ve just received a whole heap of new rural romances – click here to see them – and we’re loving every one of them (although we do admit to giggling at an alternative title for the genre:
Chook Lit!)


Leah

Author: Leah

I work as the Reader Services Librarian at Spearwood Public Library. I order the books, and I take requests for anything you can't find in the library! I also research and write local history articles for the Cockburn Soundings, and for anyone who has a local history question.

Share This Post On
468 ad

1 Comment

  1. Look out for Fleur McDonald at Spearwood Library for the launch of her new book ‘Crimson Dawn’. Monday 7th April at 6.30 pm

    Post a Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

February book roundup

by Leah time to read: 4 min
1

Facebook

Twitter

Google Plus

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram