Children’s Book Week Review: I’ve an Uncle Ivan

Children’s Book of the Year Awards 2014 – Shortlisted

Next week is Children’s Book Week (yay!) and to celebrate the occasion the people who bring you our kids blog posts will be writing a few reviews of books on the shortlist for Children’s Book of the Year Awards 2014. My first contribution is to review a book that has been shortlisted for both the Children’s Book Council Awards 2014 and the Crichton Award for New Illustrators CBCA 2014.

I’ve an Uncle Ivan by Ben Sanders

i-ve-an-uncle-ivan-cover

The first thing that strikes you about this book is the art design; it has a retro 50s look that recalls the print art styles and fashions of the time. Très chic!

I've An Uncle Ivan

 

The story itself is about “Uncle Ivan, who’s drivin’ a pie van.” As you might be able to tell, just from the opening line of the book, it is cleverly written in a rhyming style that should make for some tongue-twisting out load reading. With each successive page we meet a new relative of Ivan’s who likes to travel by a different type of transport. There’s a niece on one roller skate; a cousin who “thinks he’s super on his scooter”; a “sister Winnie, [who] looks too tall to drive a mini”; and many more zany rellies and their wacky modes of moving around!

If you look closely at the illustrations, each action packed page has a little clue or hint as to what might be coming up in the next few pages. This book is both a visual and aural treat – that means you’ll get the best out of it reading out loud together while you explore the great illustrations.

I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading I’ve an Uncle Ivan with your youngsters.


David

Author: David

I'm a library officer at Success Public Library. My main claims to fame are that I process new books and I present our local Pram Jam sessions. I've recently taught myself to (sort of) play the ukulele for these sessions - luckily, a lot of rhymes only seem to need two chords!

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Children’s Book Week Review: I’ve an Uncle Ivan

by David time to read: 1 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1