Children’s Book Week Review: Ice, Wind, Rock

Children’s Book of the Year Awards 2014 – Shortlisted

Ice, Wind, Rock: Douglas Mawson in the Antarctic / Peter Gouldthorpe

‘By far the best account of Mawson available for the younger reader’ – Peter FitzSimons, author of Mawson.

I agree with Mr FitzSimons. This is an extremely interesting read and the illustrations are superb.

I read this over a few nights with my children (10&11) and it was hard to put down, both kept asking me to read one more page. We thoroughly enjoyed it, each page turned into a (fun) geography / history lesson, at the end of each reading session the kids even pulled out their world globe and searched for locations that Mawson and his team of explorers travelled. It was a pleasure watching them pouring through each page soaking up information and in turn asking lots of questions. There was even a fight over the globe at one stage, yes it was  hilarious also a pleasure witnessing a fight over a globe (possibly the nerdiest fight of all time) they both really wanted to find Macquarie Island first. How can a book that incites geography induced rage not be a good thing?

Here are some of the  many interesting and gruesome facts in this book:

  • Did you know that Mawson and his exploration team had to eat seals and penguins to survive?!
  • Mawson travelled 160 kilometres on foot – with the skin of his soles seperated completely from the flesh!
  • After his first expedition to the South Pole with English explorer Ernest Shackleton, Mawson vowed never to return to the Antarctic again.
  • Mawson did return again and almost lost his life, on his second expedition he was the only survivor out of his party of three.
  • Mawson fell down a crevasse twice during his expeditions and mangaged to survive, the second time he had to pull himself out!

How Mawson survived such perilous situations and near death experiences and kept on going is hard to fathom. Douglas Mawson really is a true Australian hero.

So if you are after a book that will captivate young readers by combining historical facts with thrill, adventure and the occasional bit of gore this is the one.
I recommend this book for primary school aged children (6-12).

Ice, Wind, Rock has been shortlisted for the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books. The Children’s Book Council of Australia will be announcing the winners on Friday, 15th August 2014.

Check out all of the shortlisted books for the Children’s Book of the Year Awards here.


Chantelle

Author: Chantelle

Chantelle was a Library Technician at Success Library until April 2016. She enjoys reading, chocolate and anything babushka doll related.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Children’s Book Week Review: Ice, Wind, Rock

by Chantelle time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1