Book Review: ‘Stolen Time’ by Sunny Jacobs

Crime, Conviction and Prison. One of the most talked about issues in today’s world. The book Stolen Time by Sunny Jacobs not only represents the issues discussed in absolute detail, however it brings us as the outsiders into the mind of someone on the inside. Sunny Jacobs was the first female in the State of Florida to be wrongfully convicted for a crime she did not commit back in the 1970’s. Sunny Jacobs spent 17 years in jail, five of the years in on death row.

Sunny Jacobs was travelling with her partner Jesse in which were caught up in the murder of two policemen however, Jesse’s friend actually murdered the policemen in front of the couple. After 17 years Sunny was offered an Alford plea, which freed her however still caused her to have a second-degree murder charge on record. This book entails the immense scrutiny this woman went through day in and day out. Not only did this destroy her family but also like the title suggest it was her time stolen by the State of Florida.

The powerfulness of the writing conveyed by the author Sunny Jacobs herself demonstrates a powerful, intriguing yet determined and dedicated human being that stayed true to herself, her family, her children and her partner despite the difficulties she suffered. This book not only demonstrates the issues amongst laws, police and corruption it clearly shows the determination of one person, a woman in particular can get through anything just by a persistent yet patient person.

Overall this book is inspiring to any person, it is an interesting read to see what really happens on the inside particularly dating back over 40 years.


Carla

Author: Carla

Hello everyone! My name is Carla and I am a Library Officer - Bookings at the Success Public Library. I take care of all the Conference and Community Rooms 1&2 bookings upstairs in our new building. I help run the adult services events here at the library. I enjoy travelling, having a healthy lifestyle, making raw food and reading lots of our non-fiction books.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Book Review: ‘Stolen Time’ by Sunny Jacobs

by Carla time to read: 1 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1