Bear Make Den – Children’s Book Week Review

Children’s Book Week Review 2017
‘Bear make Den’

‘Bear make Den’ was long-listed as a 2017 Notable Early Childhood Book  by the Children’s Book Council of Australia.

Image result for bear make den book

Bear Make Den

The book is co-written by established Australian children’s authors, Jane Godwin and Michael Wagner, and illustrated by Andrew Joyner. It follows the likeable ‘Bear’, as he comes to realise what is missing in his den, and goes about making it.

Children can relate to the theme of having their own special place (a bed-room, a cubby) and the need to personalise it. They would also have fun trying to guess, “What is the next thing that Bear ‘needs’ in his den?”

The book subtly suggests throughout what Bear truly needs in his den, and which he finally comes to realise by the end of the book.  This gentle, encouraging approach allows children to independently absorb the book’s important message about companionship.

The Bear speaks in Tarzan-like language: “den good, den great”, which makes for a fun, characterful reading. However perhaps a quick note to kids that, “This is the ‘special’ way that the Bear speaks – we speak differently don’t we?”, may be in order.

Joyner’s illustrations are drawn in a rustic, simple style bringing  to life the charming Bear and his industriousness. They are presented in a natural but bright colour palette, appealing to young children.

‘Bear make Den’ is quite endearing and I imagine could become a firm favourite, for both adult (to read) and young child (to listen to).


This book review was written by Julie – I have been on practicum at Success Public Library for three weeks as part of a requirement for my Library Studies course. I have a background in Primary education and have enjoyed helping Jessica, our Young People’s Services Coordinator, with Book week and Storytime during this time.


Cockburn Libraries

Author: Cockburn Libraries

Hi, I'm Cockburn Libraries. My posts will usually be of a general nature and will be on topics such as the Libraries' opening times during holiday periods and information about our various services. You may also find me posting on behalf of our work experience students and casual staff members. Come and visit me soon...

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Bear Make Den – Children’s Book Week Review

by Cockburn Libraries time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    18
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    9
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    12
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    29
    0
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    14
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    32
    1
  • We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time. #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater

    cockburnlibraries: "We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time.  #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater"
    19
    0
  • Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw

    cockburnlibraries: "Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw"
    17
    0
  • Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek. . #cityofcockburn #libraries

    cockburnlibraries: "Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek.
.
#cityofcockburn #libraries"
    33
    4