Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks – Review

Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks introduces kids to over 100 animals from 50 parks across all Australian States and Territories. This book was shortlisted in the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books category of the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Book of the Year awards.

Written by Gina M. Newton, published by the National Library of Australia and with a foreword by the Governor General of Australia, Sir Peter Cosgrove, this book is a beautiful collection of images and information about some of Australia’s unique wildlife.

Dr Gina Newton is marine and freshwater ecologist and science communicator. She has worked for over 25 years in the Commonwealth Government sector – in the areas of fisheries, environmental reporting, climate change, and biodiversity conservation. She has published 2 previous children’s picture books and is currently working on a Young Adult fiction novel.

platypus photo

Photo by The Eggplant

This book is separated into sections by habitat: Woodlands & Grasslands, Forests, Rainforests, Arid Zones, Mountains, Wetlands & Waterways, Coasts Oceans & Islands and then a final section of Little Critters. In addition to these sections, there are also a couple of pages at the beginning of each section which describe the habitats in more detail.
Each animal’s page is very easy to read and informative, and the author has made a point of underlining certain words on each page that children may not know – these words can then be found in the glossary.
The information includes:

  • Animal’s scientific name
  • Habitat
  • List of National Parks where the species may occur
  • Quick facts about the species, and
  • The conservation status of the animals
australian coastal photo

Photo by andrewharvey4

little penguin photo

Photo by JJ Harrison

australian islands photo

Photo by szeke

The Eve Pownall Award for Information books from the Children’s Book Council of Australia is awarded for:

Books which have the prime purpose of documenting factual material with imaginative presentation, and variation of style.

Some important requirements for a book to be considered for the Eve Pownall Award are that the book must include referencing, contents, bibliography, index and a glossary. All of these additions enhance the readers experience.

Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks was a really informative and interesting book. To check out some other Eve Pownall Award shortlisted and notable books, follow the link here.

 

 

 

 

Photo by Rusty Clark ~ 100K Photos


Melody

Author: Melody

Hi there. I am a Library Officer at the beautiful Success Public Library. Come on in to the library and say Hi, I am always happy to meet new people.

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks – Review

by Melody time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    18
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    9
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    12
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    29
    0
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    14
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    32
    1
  • We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time. #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater

    cockburnlibraries: "We might not be on #platform9¾ with James Sirius, Albus Severus, Rose Weasley, or Scorpius Malfoy today but #harrypotter will never truly be over so long as you can #read the #book again or for the first time.  #hogwarts #bookstagram #librariesofinstagram #hogwartsexpress #backtohogwarts #19yearslater"
    19
    0
  • Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw

    cockburnlibraries: "Children's Book Week is almost done, books have been won, stories read, craft proudly displayed, but the very best part of #childrensbookweek for me is the sight of so many eager #children at a #storytime session all ready for the first book. There is still time to #winanipad though with our competitions. #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #librarianlife #childrensevents #cbw2017 #cbw"
    17
    0
  • Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek. . #cityofcockburn #libraries

    cockburnlibraries: "Staff #dressup for #childrensbookweek.
.
#cityofcockburn #libraries"
    33
    4