A Small Madness- Children’s Book Week Review

A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell

Notable for Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Book of the Year – Older Readers

madness

It seems that losing your virginity is still something to write about. Of course I’m simplifying matters because A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell is not just the physical act of sexual intimacy but all the gritty, grueling messiness of growing up and figuring things out. It almost hurts to read a story about teenage madness; makes you recall your own wild ideas and adolescent plotting and watching the characters in A Small Madness go into free fall is a painful experience. You want to shout ” grow up!!!! but of course if they were grown up we would hope they’d do a damn better job at facing up to reality.

Our characters, Rose, Liv and Micheal, all have differing perspectives on what reality actually means.  Rose is intelligent, creative, sensitive; she wants to be an actress and find herself in her art. She vehemently believes that Micheal is a person she can trust and rely on and Micheal (in that offhand, distant teenage boy way) believes that she is the girl he will one day marry. So it’s okay for them to have sex and really, you can hardly get a virgin pregnant the first time so condoms are optional. Got that sickening feeling inside your tummy yet? I’m grimacing as I type.

Anyway, Rose is  pregnant and as mind boggling as this is she can’t seem to get a grip on being with child, still at school and possibly having to forgo all her future plans. Liv, her best friend, is the driving force in the story. Her understanding is solid and grounded in a firm belief that things must be dealt with. Micheal comes from a religious background with parents that are conservative and rigid. Telling them that his teenage girlfriend is knocked up would totally derail the plans his stern father has made for him.

This is where a little maturity and experience would come in handy. Rose pretends that her pregnancy will simply disappear like the measles or a runaway dog and Micheal aids and abets because he can’t face his parents, his absent future, hard talking Liv and a scared Rose. The consequences are wrenching but inevitable and a stark reminder that adolescence is both exhilarating and brutal. No wonder most people hesitate a bit when you ask them ‘would you go back to your teens if you could? I have to tell you most times I get a resounding no!! I would I think but only if I could take a little bit of the current me along. Wouldn’t really be the same then, would it?

 


Shantelle

Author: Shantelle

Hi, I used to be the Youth Services Librarian for Coobellup Library. My role included running Story time, Creative Kids sessions and Lego Club. I really enjoyed my time working for Cockburn Libraries. Shantelle

Share This Post On
468 ad

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »

A Small Madness- Children’s Book Week Review

by Shantelle time to read: 2 min
0

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

Google Plus

Follow Me on Pinterest
  • STEM Activities: Learning about Constellations - Crafts, Sculptures, & iPad App

    Pinned: 8 Aug 2016
  • For guest room! They did this every night on our cruise and I loved it!

    Pinned: 5 Aug 2016
  • Rainbow cow

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • 30 Inspirational Quotes from Fictional Teachers and Mentors - Playgroundequipme... - Infographic

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • Your preschool and/or kindergarten students will have fun creating our C Is for Cat letter craft and letter-sound association activities for the hard "Cc" sound as in "cat."  C Is for Cat Letter Craft What you need:

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • More 2D Shape Animal Crafts A Fox Freebie!

    Pinned: 2 Aug 2016
  • My rule of life: #1 "If you want something you never had, you have to do something you've never done."

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Do what is right, not what is easy. -- read: http://www.marcandangel.com/2015/09/16/12-laws-of-happiness-that-will-change-your-life/

    Pinned: 27 Jul 2016
  • Paper Bag Ninja Craft for Kids ...Hi-Yah! | I Heart Crafty Things

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016
  • These are some beautiful quotes to read when you are depressed, sad or just need a little bit of motivation! Love yourself, read them, raise and shine!

    Pinned: 22 Jul 2016

Instagram

Follow Me on Instagram
  • #infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn

    cockburnlibraries: "#infographic #annualreport #libraries #cockburnlibraries #librariesofinstagram #cityofcockburn"
    17
    1
  • Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities.

    cockburnlibraries: "Cupcake detectives! School holiday fun. Still spots available for next week's activities."
    13
    1
  • Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o. #sidesplitterfest #cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill

    cockburnlibraries: "Comedy workshop for 12-17 y/o.
#sidesplitterfest 
#cityofcockburn #hamiltonhill"
    10
    0
  • Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking

    cockburnlibraries: "Testing day for our #schoolholidays which is all about #science you can eat or #food there are still some places available at Spearwood and Coolbellup. Visit our website for more information and to book. #librarylife #library #librariesrock #librariesofinstagram #cooking"
    20
    0
  • Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website

    cockburnlibraries: "Win tickets to the new #captainunderpantsmovie. Competition details on our website"
    13
    0
  • "Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? #ruokday

    cockburnlibraries: ""Share a cuppa. Save a life" #ruok? 
#ruokday"
    13
    0
  • Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour. #brbreading. . #reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read

    cockburnlibraries: "Sonia and Ella getting cosy with ☕️, 🍰 and a 📖 
Celebrating #AustralianReadingHour.
#brbreading.
.
#reading #readabook #libraries #coffee #perthcoffee #perthcafes #cockburnlibraries #cockburnlife #cityofcockburn #library #successlibrary #success #cockburncentral #librariesofinstagram #love2read"
    30
    2
  • Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour

    cockburnlibraries: "Reading material sorted, plus free coffee & cake, for #australianreadinghour"
    19
    1
  • #esmartweek

    cockburnlibraries: "#esmartweek"
    16
    1
  • New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids.

    cockburnlibraries: "New laptops for #coderdojo. Coding for kids."
    34
    1